Dia Noventa y Tres // Day Ninety-Three

02.04.2016 Saturday

  
I had big plans for a mountain bike ride over the Hadleigh Olympic Course this evening. However, plans don’t alway go to plan. As I was riding to the course, I punctured my rear tyre, rendering my bike near useless. I got off and resided to the fact that I was now going to have to walk myself, and my bike, the 3 kilometres home; I became annoyed and frustrated very quickly. I was annoyed that whatever had caused my tyre to puncture had ruined something that I was very much looking forward to. This ride was needed; I needed to clear my head of the insistent negativity, I needed to feel the enjoyment again of my wheels rolling along the dirt trails while the scenery changed around me and I desperately needed to find the fun in each day, something that has recently, rapidly disappeared.

However, my annoyance and frustration quickly evaporated thanks to something in life called ‘the bigger picture.‘ You may have heard of it before. It took me all of the first ten steps of my walk home to change how I was thinking. Yes, this was an inconvenience but maybe I wasn’t meant to ride today, for whatever reason. Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you choose to deal with whatever may have happened. 

I know to some people, getting a puncture may seem like a very insignificant thing, I would agree, it is. I will also be the first person to admit that it is not always easy to think of the positives (or rather, not dwell on the negatives) in certain situations. However, I believe that you can’t let one thing that has annoyed, frustrated or angered you, have a knock-on effect to something else that has the opportunity to be a positive experience. 

Leave a Reply

