Dia Veintisiete // Day Twenty-Seven

27.01.2016 (Wednesday)

  
You may have noticed by now that I really enjoy just walking. I say ‘just’ because I don’t have to be walking to somewhere and I don’t have to be walking for something. 

Exercise of any sort releases norepinephrine, a chemical that moderates the brain’s response to stress. That’s one of the main reasons I walk, it allows me to think things through. However, on my walk tonight, the bike shop caught my eye (to be honest it never just ‘catches my eye,’ it’s more that I seek it out and wouldn’t dare walk past without a look). I felt a stabbing sense of sadness at how much I miss riding. Truth be told, it is so much easier to go for a ride in Australia, the weather and roads are much more conducive to riding. I like riding with people though (mainly my dad), and am hoping this Spring/Summer I will be able to get out on the road more often; be it with someone, a group or just by myself. I am certain that riding through the English countryside and quaint villages produces more norepinephrine and endorphins than any other form of exercise – ok that might not be fact, maybe just opinion.

Leave a Reply

